Subfactors in Maui 2013 July 15-19, 2013


Program Description
Subfactors in Maui will be held July 15-19 in Maui, HI. Topics will include subfactors, fusion categories, planar algebras, free probability, and mathematical physics. The schedule of talks is:

Conference report

Monday, July 15
9:00am - 9:50am: Dietmar Bisch
10:00am - 10:50am: Dave Penneys
11:20pm - 12:10pm: David Jordan
12:20pm - 1:10pm: Kevin Walker
7:00pm - 7:50pm: Scott Morrison

Tuesday, July 16
8:00am - 8:50am: Mike Hartglass
9:00am - 9:50am: Ben Hayes
10:30am - 11:20am: Pinhas Grossman
11:30am - 12:20pm: Terry Gannon
8:00pm - 8:50pm: Noah Snyder

Wednesday, July 17
8:00am - 8:50am: Dimitri Shlyakhtenko
9:00am - 9:50am: Corey Jones
10:00am - 10:30am: Sayan Das

Thursday, July 18
12:30pm - 1:20pm: David Evans
1:30pm - 2:20pm: James Tener
2:50pm - 3:40pm: Alice Guionnet
3:50pm - 4:40pm: Zhengwei Liu

Friday, July 19
8:00am - 8:50am: Arnaud Brothier
9:00am - 9:50am: Jesse Peterson
10:30am - 11:20am: Hans Wenzl
11:30am - 12:20pm: Yasuyuki Kawahigashi
7:00pm - 7:50pm: Vaughan Jones

Information for participants
The organizers will arrange for most participants to stay at Maui Sunset in Kihei. There are nearby alternatives for anyone who would prefer to stay elsewhere. Talks will be held at UH Maui College. The relevant airport is Kahului Airport (OGG).

Dietmar Bisch (Vanderbilt University)
Arnaud Brothier (KU Leuven)
Sayan Das (Vanderbilt University)
David Evans (Cardiff University)
Terry Gannon (University of Alberta)
Pinhas Grossman (University of New South Wales)
Alice Guionnet (MIT)
Michael Hartglass (UC Berkeley)
Ben Hayes (UCLA)
Corey Jones (Vanderbilt University)
Vaughan Jones (Vanderbilt University)
David Jordan (UT Austin)
Yasuyuki Kawahigashi (University of Tokyo)
Zhengwei Liu (Vanderbilt University)
Scott Morrison (Australian National University)
David Penneys (University of Toronto)
Jesse Peterson (Vanderbilt University)
Dimitri Shlyakhtenko (UCLA)
Noah Snyder (Indiana University)
James Tener (UC Berkeley)
Kevin Walker (Microsoft Station Q)
Hans Wenzl (UC San Diego)

The workshop is being organized by Dietmar Bisch, Arnaud Brothier, Erik Guentner, Vaughan Jones, and James Tener. For logistical information, contact Arnaud Brothier at or James Tener at .

We are grateful to DARPA for funding this workshop through DARPA grant HR0011-12-1-0009.

last modified: 7/18/2013